My Travel Standbys

10 Aug

On Friday, my mom, sister and I leave for a 7-day Mediterranean Cruise aboard the Royal Caribbean Voyager of the Seas.  

I’m too excited to sleep.  

Here’s the itinerary:  

Barcelona, Spain  

Day at Sea  

Pompeii (Naples), Rome (Civi) and Florence (Livorno), Italy 

Villefranche and Toulon, France 

Since I’ve already been to Greece, I’m so thrilled my mom chose the Western Med cruise.  Not that I’d be against going to Greece again.  The islands were, in one word, breathtaking.  But now I get to add three more countries to my Places I’ve Been list. 

This week, I’m just working, packing, stressing and counting down the days until I leave.  What’s making packing easier is that I do it so often now that I have a system, and some good ol’ travel standbys I swear by.  What are they?  I’m glad you asked… 

Ginger kid tested. Ginger kid approved

  • Fossil handbags: they are a bit expensive, but if you can grab one on sale, they are good quality, made with nice fabrics and have an assortment of pockets, zipped, clasped and open for all your travel needs.  I ususally bring one as a carry-on and as a purse for sightseeing all day. 
  • Jergens Natural Glow: as a gingerkid, I don’t tan.  I go from see-through to white.  So I need some help in that department if I don’t want to blind everyone poolside.  Use this once a day for a week, and you’ll have soft, faux sun-kissed skin.  I use JNG for fair skin tones, obvi.  But they make medium and dark as well, for those of you luckier than me.
  • Comfy shoes: and yes, I always pack more than one shoe.  Even the most comfortable of shoes will cause blisters and ouchies on your feet after a couple days of straight wear.  It’s important to switch off shoes everyday to prevent painful rubbage.  Some of my favorite brands are Clarks, Born and I just got some cute silver Sketchers sneakers.  I know what you’re thinking.  “But Heather, I want to be cute, fashionable and comfortable.”  Tough.  Those things do not exist together in shoes.  But, Clarks usually have decent-looking sandals, and Born are seriously like walking on clouds.  Suck it up, Nancy.  It isn’t a fashion show.
  • Mini Clif bars: since the regular Clif bars are the same calories as a light meal, I was ecstatic when they came up with the mini bars.  My favorite flavor right now is Oatmeal Walnut Raisin, but I’m still trying others, too.  These are great to pop in your new Fossil bag for the airport, in case you get stuck somewhere and need a pick-me-up snack.  Tiny and delicious.
  • Amazon Kindle: ok, I just got one for my birthday, and having used it on a trip to Denver last month, I can now say I’m a fan.  Nothing will replace the smell of a book or the feeling of curling up with a good book and mug of hot tea on a rainy day, but for travel, the Kindle is seriously superior.  Ultra light, skinny, and the battery lasts way longer than my iPod.  I have to admit, I just returned my Kindle so I can upgrade to the newest generation.  I’m sad I won’t have it for my cruise, but the benefits of the newer model far outweigh not having it for one trip.

In the meantime, I’m off to Borders tonight to inhale some book fumes and grab a good read for the cruise.  Something set in Italy, I think.

2 Responses to “My Travel Standbys”

  1. Mikael August 11, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    You got a Kindle for your birthday? Jealous! Very cool… Sounds like a great list for your trip! I can’t wait to hear all about it!

  2. danarork86 August 11, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

    Wow, have fun on the cruise! Sounds amazing! Can’t wait to read all about it!

Leave a Reply

